Although not officially open with a ribbon cutting, the Mary Woodruff Research Center is open to the public on the 2nd floor of the 1878 Academy building, 605 Orange Center Road. Once housing the high school, the area is now used for the extensive collection of Orange history. During this summer, there have been several visitors with various degrees of success in finding the information they sought. The original documents of the town have been archived in Mylar and other important documents are housed in acid free boxes available to the researchers.
A large photo collection has been organized with photo albums and individual file folders of specific topics located in the many file cabinets the OHS has managed to collect over the years. A large map case donated by OHS president Ginny Reinhard boasts many blueprints and maps of local firms in Orange with the Wilson H. Lee collection especially important, as the building is no longer standing. Records of the three important seed companies, F.H. Woodruff and S. D. Woodruff and E.B. Clark are equally important and can be researched as well.
The center is open by appointment by calling Ginny at 203 795-3106.